The Walt Whitman Award

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Poetry and other Book topics.

List some award-winning poetry.

The Walt Whitman Award

The Walt Whitman Award was established in 1975 to encourage new and emerging poets. Administered by the Academy of American Poets, it is awarded to American poets that have never before published a book. There is a $5,000 cash prize, along with publication of their first poetry book and a one-month residency at the Vermont Studio Center.

Recent winners include Jonathan Thirkield, Sally Van Doren, and Anne Pierson Wiese.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Book Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Kristle Jones