The Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Poetry and other Book topics.

Who has won the Lenore Marshall Prize for Poetry?

The Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize

Lenore Guinzberg Marshall (1897-1971) was a poet as well as a peace and anti-nuclear activist. She was a member of a number of prestigious organizations, including the Poetry Society of America and the Authors League of America, and was a co-founder of the National Committee for a Sane Nuclear Policy (SANE).

In 1975, an award was established in her name to recognize the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous year. The prize is endowed by a gift to the Academy of American Poets, and is currently set at $25,000 annually.

Past winners have included Henri Cole, Alice Notley, Eleanor Lerman, and Anne Winters.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Book Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Phyllis Serbes