The Tanning Prize for Poetry

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Poetry and other Book topics.

What poets have won the Tanning Prize?

The Tanning Prize for Poetry

The Academy of American Poets administers the Tanning Prize, established in 1994. Painter Dorothea Tanning presented the Academy with a gift of $2 million to endow the prize, which offers a $100,000 yearly prize, the largest prize for poetry in the United States. The prize is given to a living American poet "in recognition of outstanding and proven mastery of the art of poetry."

Past winners include W.S. Merwin, who won the first prize in 1994, James Tate, and Adrienne Rich.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Book Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Patricia Walters-Fischer