The National Book Awards

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Award-Winning Books and other Book topics.

List some award-winning books for children.

The National Book Awards

On March 16, 1950, a consortium of book publishing groups sponsored the first annual National Book Awards Ceremony and Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City. Their goal was to enhance the public´s awareness of exceptional books written by fellow Americans, and to increase the popularity of reading in general. The National Book Awards have become the nation´s preeminent literary prizes, and The National Book Awards Ceremony and Dinner the most important event on the literary calendar. The Awards are given to recognize achievements in four genres: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People´s Literature. The Winners, selected by five-member, independent judging panels for each genre, receive a cash award and a crystal sculpture.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Book Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Lynda Moultry